Ask The Ump

If you have questions about the rules the Yellowknife Slopitch Assocation follows, email us at ykslopitch@hotmail.com

Question: When an opposing team has two outs with a runner on third and the third out happens on first base and the runner on third didn’t pass the home base line before the third out, does that run count?

Answer: On a forced play for the third out the run doesn’t count. If it wasn’t a force play for the third out and the runner made it past the scoring line before the tag to make the third out the run would count.

Question: What is the rule for walks?

Answer: If a female batter receives one or more strikes prior to receiving four balls, the female walks to first base. If a female batter is walked on four straight pitches, the female is still only awarded first base. If a male batter receives one or more strikes prior to receiving four balls, the male only goes to first base. If a male batter is walked on four straight pitches, the male automatically goes to second base.

Regardless of whether the male batter is awarded first or second base on a walk, the following female batter does not receive an automatic walk.

Question: If a batter hits the ball and it flies off the bat and hits the ground just in front of the plate and rolls fair. Is it a dead ball or is all well. And if the batter swings, pops it up off the backstop and the catcher nabs it Is he or she out or just a foul.

Answer: In scenario 1, whether the ball hits the plate, rolls a bit and stops in fair territory or ahead of the plate and stays in fair territory the ball is fair (the plate is also in fair territory) provided that the batter has taken a full swing (bunting is an automatic out). In scenario 2, a foul ball cannot be caught off the backstop for an out. Once in contact with the backstop it is just a foul and no out can be made (unless the batter already has two strikes).

 

Sign in

Forgot Password?

Your Information